Peace of soul

I have the need in my heart to pray. I have discovered that prayer is essential to my daily living. Not only whispers during the day but dedicated time set aside for prayer.

In the mornings we gather together as a family, we stand before our home altar and we say our morning prayers. We have always used the Pocket Prayer Book in doing our prayers but recently I’ve started using the prayers that are written at the back of my bible since Hudson our Lab decided he also wanted to pray and chewed the cover off the Pocket Prayer Book.

Paloma and Vincent have said these prayers for many years now that they can all but say them by heart. This in itself blesses me tremendously. You can read them here.

There is one prayer in particular by Metroplitan Philaret that I recently discovered and have fallen in love with.

O Lord,
grant that I may meet the coming day in peace.
Help me in all things
to rely upon Thy Holy Will.
In every hour of the day,
reveal Thy will to me.
Bless my dealings with all who surround me.
Teach me to treat all that comes to me
throughout the day with peace of soul,
and with the firm conviction that Thy will governs all.
In all my deeds and words,
guide my thoughts and feelings.
In unforeseen events, let me not forget
that all are sent by Thee.
Teach me to act firmly and wisely,
without embittering and embarrassing others.
Give me the strength to bear the fatigue
of the coming day with all that it shall bring.
Direct my will.
Teach me to pray.
Pray Thou Thyself in me.
Amen.

I know right? This prayer says it all! You couldn’t ask for a more sincere request of God. I encourage you if you are reading this to mediate on the words of this prayer and begin to use it as part of your rule of prayer.

2 thoughts on “Peace of soul

  1. That prayer was my first experience with any Orthodox prayers. Before we were Orthodox and my husband was reading and looking into it I came across this prayer and printed it out. I began to just pray that because I couldn’t get my head around the whole big picture of the formal prayers. Now I have it memorized and say it every morning with my prayers. I love it!!

Leave a Reply

