My Dad

The saddest thing I heard all day was from my Dad. I called California to wish him a happy fathers day. Me, “Happy Fathers Day Dad!” Him, “It’s fathers day?”

I don’t like hearing my Dad like that. It made me cry. He told me about a fall he took a month or so ago. I reminded him that I called him at the hospital that day and talked to him.

If this were a perfect world I get to see my Dad every day. Heck, I’d be happy with just talking to him a few minutes a day. But this isn’t my world or his we’re just living in it.

Before I got off the phone I told him that I was glad he was my Dad. He said, “I’m proud of you Des. I’m glad you’re my daughter.”

Leave a Reply

