On parenting.

Being a parent is hard.

I love it more than anything else in the world but it’s not easy.

It would be an understatement to say that John and I have worried a lot lately about decisions we’ve made as parents. We have been up nights agonizing over choices made by our children and trying to reconcile these with “what did we do wrong”?

Something I heard the other day gave me a different perspective though. The choices my children make (unless I’ve directly contributed to it in a negative way) is not a reflection of me or my parenting. Meaning, if we’ve worked hard to give our children the skills, opportunities, love, and advice etc. they need to become great adults than the choices they make when they become adults are their own.

Choices. That’s a word I really hate at the moment.

Some very heartbreaking choices have been made lately and we have had to stand our ground and hold to our convictions as Christians and parents and let them be. This has been one of the most difficult things we have ever had to do. We have talked, pleaded, prayed, and yet here is where we find ourselves.

It’s not fair. It’s not right.  We have no other choice than to surrender and pray for mercy.

I will do my best to keep it together while at work today but tonight I will go home and morn for what is lost.

I won’t forget this day. Not ever.

2 thoughts on “On parenting.

  1. I struggle often and lose sleep over parenting issues. With two teenage sons at home, 17 and 19, I often question myself, wonder if I know what I am doing anymore etc. I know that they must make choices and own their own lives and faith, but it is hard to let go. Prayer is always on my lips for them. Can you email me with more details? Praying for you, my friend.

Leave a Reply

