We’re not alone

kidsbandw
Sunday we’ll drop Paloma and Vincent off at camp. They’ll be gone for two weeks (or about 12 days) to the Antiocian Village.
This is Vincent’s first time at camp but also his first real sleep away.

In all honesty I’m nervous for him. Yes, he’s almost 11 and he’s a big boy, but I know what it’s like to miss home.
They’re going to horseback ride, swim, do archery, pray, and be taught in our faith but I’m sure there will be moments in all that fun that he will be homesick.

Last night he came to my room and told me how excited he was about going to camp. This brought a big smile to my face. I told him “you’ll have your sister there, you’re friends from church and son at some point in those 12 days you’re probably going to become home sick but don’t worry the mother of God will be there to comfort you as if I were there wrapping my arms around you. She cares for you like she cares for her son, Jesus. And when you’re feeling like you’re missing Dad Christ himself will be close to you every moment of the day and especially when you’re in His house (church).”

theotokos-raised-border

This world is scary at times. We might feel lonely and maybe even out of sorts from time to time. I have often felt homesick and have longed for the day when I’ll be free of this space and time and feel the comfort and love that I will know in eternity. But today is not that day.I can’t lose sight of the reality that this is not my home. While I’m here there is much to do and even more to be thankful for.

“All who have lived according to God still live unto God, though they have departed this life. For this reason, God is called the God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob, since He is the God, not of the dead, but of the living (cf. Mt. 22:32).” St. Gregory the Theologian

Christ gives me comfort through friends and family in my daily life but also through the lives of the faithful departed who have endured this life before me. Their testimony and faith give me hope and their prayers for me today lighten the load of this life and my longing for home. I keep learning from their testimony and the gift they are to me in this present age. Because they have endured we can endure no matter what this life holds for us.

May we know comfort, enlightenment, sanctification, transfiguration, and christification through the lives of each other and through the lives of the saints. More importantly, not that we would just know in the sense of “it’s there” and “its waiting”, but know in the sense of “to experience”. That we would dive into the deep pool of their lives and reap the benefits of their sacrifices and the blessings of their communion with the Father.

That is what gets me by, the church living and dead.

But our commonwealth is in heaven, and from it we await a Savior, the Lord Jesus Christ, who will change our lowly body to be like his glorious body, by the power which enables him even to subject all things to himself. (Philippians 3:20-21).

One thought on “We’re not alone

  1. What beautiful words for your son about the Mother of God comforting him and always being there! So lovely. And I love what you said about the Church, living and dead: “That we would dive into the deep pool of their lives and reap the benefits of their sacrifices and the blessings of their communion with the Father.
    That is what gets me by, the church living and dead.”

    Catching up with my blog reading. Missed yours. I’m back. 🙂

Leave a Reply

