I took the red pill

...And the Red Pill, which activates the Trace...
…And the Red Pill, which activates the Trace Program. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I read a blog the other day that made me think about a conversation I had with a friend this past weekend. It was all about “opening a can of worms.” You know the idiom that speaks to revealing something that will be messy and hard to conceal. The thought that once you go down “that road” you can’t go back .  I laughed to myself when I read it because I thought about my conversion to Eastern Orthodoxy and how it’s done just that for some people in my life. It’s opened a can of worms for them.

Your beliefs will be the light by which you see, but they will not be what you see and they will not be a substitute for seeing. Flannery O’Connor, Mystery and Manners

This can I opened has made people close to me uncomfortable. Some have gone to great lengths to ignore it or me. Some have attempted to understand, but found it to difficult so they hold tighter to the lid and make boastful attempts in their own lives to express how their can is nicely fastened and they have no need to look or grow any further.

A popular movie came out in 1999 called The Matrix. I love the scene where Neo is on the verge of learning about the real world he is living in. Morpeheus says this to Neo “This is your last chance. After this, there is no turning back. You take the blue pill – the story ends, you wake up in your bed and believe whatever you want to believe. You take the red pill – you stay in Wonderland and I show you how deep the rabbit-hole goes.”

Two years ago I took the red pill and since, I have not stopped falling down the rabbit hole of Eastern Orthodoxy.

That which has been is what will be, that which is done is what will be done, and there is nothing new under the sun.

I have many friends (Christians, Buddhist, Atheists, Gnostics, etc.) who are still looking, searching for the missing pieces to the puzzle. They wander from church to church; experience to experience. They chase after every high the church, or the world, offers and they go home feeling empty; they wonder what they’re doing wrong. They blame people for their lack of happiness or fulfillment or some wear a mask of fulfilled lives but inside are dying to be known and to know the Creator.

“You know, to me, the most beautiful things in the universe, are the most mysterious.” A. Einstein

There is something so illogical about opening a can of worms, but God is not logical; instead He transcends logic. He is incarnate. He is mysterious. He is transcendent. Ask yourself if this is the God you know.

He covers himself with light as if it were a garment. He stretches out the skies like a tent curtain,and lays the beams of the upper rooms of his palace on the rain clouds. He makes the clouds his chariot, and travels along on the wings of the wind.He makes the winds his messengers, and the flaming fire his attendant. Psalm 104:2-4

To the dear ones in my life (you know who you are)  who are searching, keep searching until you know the Divine. Search untill you are clothed in the ancient, transforming, all encompassing God who defies mans logic. You will never be the same.

Leave a Reply

