Who am I?

Some people call it charisma. I’m not sure what I would call it but I’ve realized that sales men have it and I have it. Whatever the “it”  is. I’ve got a knack for talking people into things. I’m really good at encouraging other people to do things their not sure they want to do.

Now that sounds all “Jim Jones” but I’m really not trying to be. I just mean when I see something great about a person or maybe a thing, I  have to share it with everyone I know because I want other people to think that the thing or the person is great too.

Someone at work asked me why I was the way I was (all charismatic and motivational). My first thought came back to my faith but I couldn’t pin point a specific reason why I am the way I am. So it got me thinking. Who am I? lol

I’m a faithful Eastern Orthodox Christian meaning; my faith makes my world go round. Without it I would be sad. Sad because I’d feel like I’d have no purpose or meaning and because I am a person of deep faith I have hope, meaning, and joy.

I am also one of four children and a Mexican American. Life was not easy growing up. Bad things happened but good things also happened and that’s what I focus on. I love my chicana heritage and everything that goes with it. From Mexican food, to oldies, to being an over baring woman, it’s all apart of who I am. Everything in moderation I always say.

DSCF9873I come from a lineage of strong people full of culture, family, and music. I have that music flowing through me. I’ve had it all my life. I sing and love to dance. I love reggae and dance hall and when I’m lucky enough get to cut a rug with my amazing husband like we did this morning in the kitchen before breakfast.

I’m a native Californian and that’s the reason for a lot of my spanglish, love of California bands, famous people sittings (that my 15-year-old thinks is amazing), and love of the beach. Ahhhh, my other home. Maybe one day I’ll have that house on the beach I’ve always wanted.

I was taught a long time ago to be faithful and loyal. That being said if you’re my friend we’ve probably been friends since forever and will be till we’re old and saggy.

I like vintage clothes, cars, and authentic style. I don’t like mainstream music, television, or fads. Tattoos are not for ladies! Yes, I said it.  Although in my younger years I did get my husband’s name on my left arm and I don’t regret it. I think girls should act like girls. They should have manners, act feminine, and know how to cook. Ok, that’s all I’m going to say about that.

I’m big on helping people out and being a friend to the friendless. One of my favorite quotes “Each person must bear the weaknesses of others. Who is perfect? Who can boast that he has kept his heart undefiled? Hence, we are all sick, and whoever condemns his brother does not perceive that he himself is sick, because a sick person does not condemn another sick person.” -Elder Ephraim of Philotheou & Arizona

I just LOVE people, what can I say.

Anyway, that’s everything. So next time someone asks why I am the way Ionegonekitten-38_140 am (nondescript adjective filled in here) I’ll have a long list for them.

p.s. Don’t worry. I’m not going to give up my day job to be a hypnotist any time soon. 😉

Leave a Reply

