Love not fear

Image“Let us be convinced that nothing can happen to us apart from the providence of God.”– St. Dorotheos, Discourses and Sayings

Life is strange. Well, not so much but it can appear that way. One minute your waking up with the only concern on your mind is the dinner you’ll make that night, the next moment you’re boarding a plane to say your final goodbye to your sister.

That’s how saturday two weeks ago went for me. It was a punch to my gut to realize as I sat on a six-hour flight that I might have been too late. The fasted mode of transportation and it couldn’t seem to get me there any quicker.

I haven’t been home to California in a little over two years and the last visit was to bury my dear niece on my husbands side.  Seeing and spending time with my side of the family was very limited. It felt like I hadn’t been home for four years.

God had the perfect person meeting me at the airport. My brother-in-law was gracious enough to fight the traffic to LAX and pick me up to take me straight to the hospital. We shared a long two-hour car ride and the most wonderful conversations about family, faith, and life in general. We caught up quickly and easily and it was as if I had never left.

I arrived at the hospital and to my sisters room and as God would have it no one was there visiting. It was the perfect moment I needed to see her and see that she had survived the night.

She was still sedated with tubes coming out of her mouth etc. There was nothing to say but to pray a prayer of thanksgiving for her life that was already a miracle. She lived.

The rest of the week I tried with all earnestness to make myself useful to my Mom who is caring for my sisters daughter and my ailing Father. Errands, time spent at the park, a listening ear, a cook. . .however I could anticipate a need I made it my goal to accomplish.

Old friends brought snacks, groceries, meals, and prayed with me for my sister as we visited, while she slept. One sweet moment after another occurred. Love not fear gushed in my heart and would overwhelm me to tears.

Love not fear.

“Do not fear, for I am with you; Do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, surely I will help you, Surely I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.” Isaiah 41:10

Let’s face it, no family is perfect. We fight and there are misunderstandings; sadly we even hurt each other and it’s not because Jesus doesn’t live in our hearts but because sometimes, in our humanness, we need to be right.  Although I thought I was going to California for a very different reason God saw the opportunity to mend hearts.

How can we say we love God and hate our brother? (brother being anyone who isn’t ourselves) “My little children let us not love in word or in tongue, but in deed and in truth.” 1st John 2:18

I didn’t write this to give you some command to mend fences with those you love because life is short. Although, what good is it to hold onto bitterness, un forgiveness, or pride in any relationship in your life?

As far as it depends on you, live at peace with all men. Romans 12:18

The path of humility leads to good things. I am convinced of this.

Here is the first moments Michelle was able to open her eyes. God has done a great thing in you Michelle!

Image

Leave a Reply

