Half way

Last night in church during the vespers service I realized that next month is August. Where has time gone? That thought lead me to think of my big 40th birthday coming up in August and the Dorminiton fast that is approaching in just one day now.

I’ve talked about her before and so I’m sounding like a broken record but I truly have come to love the Holy Mother. I am feeling very blessed that my 40th birthday (well, every birthday) falls during this time of the year. I’m connecting the dots in my head about her, my birthday, the fast, and how a friend once told one of her small children that I looked like her. I felt honored to say the least.

I know a lot of people dread this number, turning 40. I feel like it’s my half way point. I have lived 40 years on this earth and I presumably have 40 more to go. WOW!

I was talking to someone the other day and we talked about life and experiences. I remember feeling how I could actually die tomorrow. I’ve done every thing in life that I’ve wanted to do. We’ve lived in another country. We’ve traveled around the world. I have the job I’ve always wanted. I’ve had the car, purse, home, all the material things that I could imagine. I know and still have the love of my life. I’m very content.

So when you feel this content with life, at the half way point, what else is there?

This has actually been on my mind for quite some time. What will this next forty years bring? I can only imagine it will be greater things than the first half because that’s just usually the way things work. The first half is hard and unknown territory but the second half is more manageable and thus greater things happen.

I can’t plan out the next forty years nor do I want to but I have some goals. First is to become more like Christ.  I’m going to keep on in this race of faith to win the prize.

Brethren, I do not regard myself as having laid hold of it yet; but one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and reaching forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.

My second goal is to see my children married and thriving in their faith.

My third is to one day move close to one of the orphanages I love and work there and live out my old age as a mother and grandmother to those that have been abandoned.

Short list. Yes, because whatever else happens in between these three things will all be icing on the cake.

The caveat in all this? Prayer. It will be with much prayer that I see this next forty years as a continued blessing, progress in my spiritual life, and joy in all circumstances.

Glory to God for all things, especially age.

 

Leave a Reply

