Wait on the Lord

I met one of my best friends Karen about ten years ago. Never in a million years did I understand at that moment how much of an impact her life and the lives of her family would have on mine. At the time, her family consisted of her, her husband, and two amazing step children. Ten years later they have grown to six children, one son in law, one grandbaby and two on the way. Although I could most certainly write for days about her amazing adoption journey its the impact of her life and their choices on me, that is why I’m writing today.

Most of what I’ll write today will not be in full disclosure because we are still working all the legalistic out on our end but I needed a place to begin our story. Writing helps me process. It helps me step out of the day-to-day and look at it with a different perspective.

John and I have always had a heart for the poor, homeless, and misplaced of society. This deep feeling of helping those who could no longer help themselves has brought us to many soup kitchens, strangers at the dinner table, and teaching our own kids to give from their abundance. I guess that’s why Karen and I have always been so close. Not only do we share this heart for people but we have been on the receiving end of their generosity on many occasions.

That is the joy that comes from fellowship in the body of Christ. This is what being a christian is; sharing what we have with those in need.

Whoever is generous to the poor lends to the Lord. Proverbs 19:17

I would be lying if I said giving is always easy. Yes, writing at check, at times is easy. Picking up extra boxes of cereal while I’m at the store is easy. Time, is not always easy. Most certainly in our life today, our time and love is what is needed. The thought of this scares me a little. I struggle at feeling equipped to give of myself in ways that are unknown and it’s overwhelming.

But the cost of my time and the new ways we are learning to show love, is worth the reward that awaits the receivers. Although it feels dark, not from evil but from a path we haven’t walked, we continue to keep one foot in front of the other as we pray “Lord have mercy on us!” And, He does.

Courage is what we need to keep moving; faith to believe that He knows the plans He has for all of us. A future is all we are asking for but I know deep down, He has so much more. I hear the fear in those that hope to believe but can’t; because it is the same fear I suffocate daily, but I will still believe.

 “Have you not known? Have you not heard? The LORD is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He does not faint or grow weary; his understanding is unsearchable. He gives power to the faint, and to him who has no might he increases strength. Even youths shall faint and be weary, and young men shall fall exhausted; but they who wait for the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.

Grace and peace to you my friends, we put our lives in His mighty hands.

Leave a Reply

