Prayer books for kids.

A friend asked me this morning if I had any recommendations on confession/reconciliation books for children. It made me think of the wonderful prayer books that I’ve purchased in the past for my two children and I thought it would be a good idea to share those with all of you. As a side note these would make great stocking suffers for your elementary, middle school and high school aged kids.

We converted to the faith when my children were older but one of the most important aspects of any Christian life is confession. They learned most of what they know of confession through Sunday School but it is important as a family to make confession an ongoing conversation as they grow.

Confession is a holy mystery. It is a gift given to us as a means of reconciliation to the Father.

“If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness.” 1 John 1:9

A book I bought for Vincent when he was in 5th grade (so he was 10) was Children’s Orthodox Prayer Book. You can purchase it here.  It is a beautiful little blue covered book. The cover is sturdy and there are pictures that accompany each prayer.  It also has short explanations on prayer and stories about spiritual matters simplified. We read it together many nights and found many examples of ways to apply these stories to his life. I would recommend this book for younger children from ages 7-10.

Another book I’ve purchased over the years is Hear Me:  A Prayerbook for Orthodox Teens. (Purchase here) This is wonderful prayer guide for Jr. High and High school young people. “Hear Me is a prayer-book designed to address the unique challenges youth experience in their walk with Christ. This user-friendly manual communicates the importance of both corporate and personal faith. Prayers for school, friendships, and family give teens tools for successful relationships. A topical section offers encouragement as teens face daily challenges. The Q & A section answers practical questions the youth themselves may find challenging. Hear Me gives teens direction in using the tools Christ has given us Holy Scripture as the map, and the Church and Her Traditions the compass, helping our youth find their own path toward theosis.” (Taken from Ancient Faith Publishing).  This book is available on ebook for your savvy teenagers. Paloma really enjoyed this as a practical means to participate in her faith.

A book I’ve just recently ordered but has not yet arrived is Special Agent of Christ. (Purchase here.) I wasn’t a fan of the name of the book at first because it sounded too childish but my 12-year-old still runs around outside fighting Orcs and dawning his sword and shield so I gave it a try. It is also written by the Author of the previous book I mentioned.  I loved that one so I’m looking forward to getting into this new one with Vincent.  The book is described as a training manual and it seemed fitting for my soon to be teenager in training.

“The examples of special agents of the past—the saints—encourage these “young saints” to serve God here and now.”

So that’s it. A short and sweet list of prayer books that have impacted my little family on our journey to salvation. What books have impacted your children spiritually? I’d love to know.

001320__41220.1409569766.1280.1280

Leave a Reply

