The Nativity Season begins. . .

We are just about at the end of the first week in our Nativity Fast. Instead of doing a look back at the lessons I’ve learned after the entire six weeks is completed I decided to break it up into smaller bites. The message for me this week has been two fold; first about faith.  Second it has been about the message of Christmas in the context of the poor.

I never realized how many times in a week I could feel fear or doubt. When you make a conscious effort to realize a lack of faith  you see it more clearly.

Romans 8:28 says “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose”. This scripture reminds  me that no matter the circumstance I am always now, and always have been, in the palm of His awesome hand. It’s been great practice for me this week to remind myself that God is in control, that He sees all things in my life before and after they happen, and that His will for me and my life is for my good; for my salvation. Ahhhh, not easy but I’m working on it.

We, as a family read Luke 14:12-15 the other night. “But when you give a feast invite the poor, the maimed, the lame, and the blind. And you will be blessed because they can not repay you. . .” This is the message of Christmas! More importantly this is the message of all Christians. How blessed the world around us would be if we not only gave of our food, time, resources, during the holiday season but if we had this  “Christmas spirit” all year???

This is our goal. This is our salvation.

Nativity_tree2011

What is God showing you during this nativity season?

Leave a Reply

