Heaven is here!

“Christ with me, Christ before me, Christ behind me, Christ in me, Christ beneath me, Christ above me, Christ on my right, Christ on my left, Christ when I lie down, Christ when I sit down, Christ in the heart of everyone who thinks of me, Christ in the mouth of everyone who speaks of me, Christ in the eyes that sees me, Christ in the ear that  hears me. . .”

I have to admit that I do not live this prayer every day. In fact, I find it hard to live this prayer in the many different moments of my day. It makes me sad actually. My attention is usually turned to all the other things I need to get done and accomplish in a day.

In Matthew Christ taught “repent, for the kingdom of heaven is at hand.” He did not say that the kingdom of heaven is still to come or that soon it would be here but he said that the “kingdom of heaven is at hand”.

So why then do we still live as if we are standing with our necks bent toward the sky waiting for heaven still to come?  Sadly, we are and we do. We have not heard Christ warning and in that we miss the opportunities of heaven here on earth. We are distracted by this posture and miss our opportunity to be Holy.

It is not the heaven we have been brainwashed to believe like many but a heaven that is consumed with our Lord. To be with Him is our heaven! We are living as people who are waiting and buying time till our rescue. We are not living as if He is here. Our rescue has come! Our hope is here!

I have come that you may have life, and that you may have it more abundantly.

I can not forget that He is with me in the moments a family member irritates me and I want to react impatiently. I can not forget that He is with me when I leave the house and see a family walking in the snow. I can not forget that He is with me when my neighbor throws their trash on my side of the yard and I want to be angry. I can not forget that He is with me when my body is sick and I want to complain.

I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength because heaven is here; He is here. I can be the light the world needs because I am not alone. Lord, help me to accomplish this.

Leave a Reply

