The Struggle

12524210_10207821491836510_4952778406579004242_n

In not so many words this has been my heart lately. I, like a lot of women struggle to be meek and humble. Society tells me to rage against those who would try to take away my rights. To invest in me because no one else is going to do it for me; find myself and truly understand myself.  But those messages feel and seem to counter what my heart is saying.

 “but whoever wishes to become great among you shall be your servant; and whoever wishes to be first among you shall be slave of all. For even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give His life a ransom for many.”

I look at myself in the mirror and I don’t see lines from old age or a weak unappreciated woman who lost herself in others pursuits. I read about great woman who let their actions and quite way about them move mountains, feed the hungry and cloth the naked. I look all around me and see strong backs and legs from  those who hold up their friends and family in times of trouble. I taste tears that fall in joy and sorrow that come from sharing in each others burdens.

“If you are humble nothing will touch you, neither praise nor disgrace because you know what you are.” Mother Terasa

This is the heart I want. This is my pursuit. Albeit a struggle to say no to the worlds idea of fame, joy, gratification;  it’s a struggle I’m willing to embrace.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

