Mothers day reflection

Mother’s Day is just around the corner and if you don’t live under a rock you have been inundated with commercials and advertisements reminding you how special your mom is and not to forget her on this day; as if all of this is necessary! Would you ever forget the woman who gave you life?

This day’s focus is about me and all the sacrifices motherhood has allowed me to make. It’s about the late nights with feverish children, the field trips, the five million peanut butter and jelly sandwiches I’ve made. . . this day is dedicated to us.

It’s not just a day to be flooded with gifts, handmade cards, and spa getaways, it’s a day for me to remember why I do what I do as a mother. It’s a great day to ask myself this questions: Am I living a life that is honorable and praise worthy of an entire day that is set aside for me? Better yet, am I living a life that is honorable and praise worthy in front of my kids and husband?

I’m sure those of you reading this would say “Of course I am! I work a job to help put a roof over their heads or I home school. I sacrifice my time to make cookies for bake sales. I clean up poop diapers twenty times a day. I make sure laundry is done and dinner is healthy and filling.” But is there more we could be doing? Is there something even more important than all of the “things” we do for our kids that we are forgetting?

Let’s look at some verses that might help us redirect our focus to praise worthy motherhood.

Train up a child in the way he should go, even when his is old he will not depart from it. Proverbs 22:6

No, the proverb isn’t telling us to spend lots of money on soccer camps or cooking lessons. It’s not telling us to prepare them for adulthood by teaching them to make savvy investments to a portfolio. (although none of these things are terrible in and of themselves) This proverb is telling us to think about their salvation.  We as caregivers are called to make our kids wise unto THEIR salvation. To equip them to do good works and to give them a reason for the hope that they believe. Are we teaching them sincere faith in God? Are we taking them to church? Are we teaching them how to pray and seek God in times of trouble?

Older women likewise are to be reverent in their behavior, not malicious gossips nor enslaved to much wine, teaching what is good, so that they may encourage the young women to love their husband, to love their children, to be sensible, pure, workers at home, kind. . .Titus 2:3-5

If this sounds old fashioned to you that’s because it is. A new movie is on its way out in theaters encouraging mothers to forgo the demure, sensible, reverent behavior and just let it all hang out. “You do You” as my 18 year old would say. Curse, drink to drown out the noise and think about you because being a mother drives you to this. If parenting is creating in me a need to regularly check out or to behave “me” centric I’m doing something wrong. My goal is to raise children who live opposite of the “me” centric mentality. If my hope is have children who do not burden society but care about the world, the environment or the less fortunate then it starts when they are young and throughout their lives teaching them to live with honor and to think of other above themselves.

 Her children arise and call her blessed, her husband also and he praises her. Proverbs 31:28

This verse has always been my anthem as a mother and it has been what I strive to live like. No, my kids don’t come to my bed side in the morning and speak in Old English: “Oh mother who art Blessed”, or  peel me grapes and fan me with palm fronds, but there have been many moments and occasions that I see my efforts and example pay off in my kids’ lives. Without words they have blessed me.  “The fruit of my womb has been my reward” (Psalm 127:3).

When I stand before my creator on that day of judgment and Christ shows me my life (the people I’ve prayed for, the bible studies I’ve lead, yada yada) I want Him to say “Well done good and faithful servant, come into my rest!”; not because of the “things”, but because my children know Him. I want to be welcomed into His kingdom because for a short time on earth he saw me fit to hold the HUGE responsibility to be an example of His love to three lives.

So as Mother’s Day approaches I wish you all a day filled with rest, breakfast in bed and love overflowing. I also pray that we would take a minute to exam our own lives and hearts and see if beside the “things” we do for our kids, if we are we living Christ in front of our kids. If we aren’t it’s never too late to start today!

 

*I’d also like to thank my mother for always being a Godly example in front of us growing up. Happy Mother’s Day mom. I love you!

974008_4358725745936_1945912576_n

 

 

Leave a Reply

