Passion and Prayer

 

Since I was young I have had a deep longing to pray; it has been a strong feeling of wanting to reach out into the universe and feel small. It’s been an enticement to be drawn “. . . upwards into touch with celestial things:” (Way of the Pilgrim).

Truthfully, I have always been a passionate person, some may even call me excitable. The power of that excitable spigot in me can easily be turned to passions of a not so worthy calling if I do not keep a regular rule of prayer though. Maybe you can relate?

However, my prayer life is more than just a cause to keep ME from behaving or acting in a way that would put my soul in jeopardy, my passions and prayer life effect those around me. How do I react to the latest news when politicians say offensive things on television. . . or famous people are caught in lies or inappropriate behaviors? Better yet, when an injustice has occurred to unborn children or refugees are being displaced and treated inhumanly?

Here is where prayer comes in; when my prayer life is sparse I run the risk of speaking from a place of anger or disgust. My reaction as a Christian to these types of situations can entice hate, or bring a spirit of peace; but only if my passion spigot is flowing from time spent in prayer. After all, I am human.! My natural reaction to things that I am passionate about can come across as compassionless, harsh or sinful.

The world needs those with passion and a Godly perspective. It is, actually, looking for sound advice; a voice to come out of the followers and the noise. We pray humbly that we would be that voice.

“Virtues are formed by prayer.

Prayer preserves temperance. Prayer suppresses anger. Prayer prevents emotions of pride and envy.

Prayer draws into the soul the Holy Spirit, and raises man to Heaven.”

— St. Ephrem of Syria

 

Leave a Reply

